RSS

Shattered

07 Jul

Yesterday I died; tomorrow’s bleeding
Fall into your sunlight
The future’s open wide beyond believing
To know why hope dies
And losing what was found, a world so hollow
Suspended in a compromise
But the silence of this sound is soon to follow
Somehow sundown
And finding answers
Is forgetting all of the questions we call home
Passing the graves of the unknown

As reason clouds my eyes with splendor fading
Illusions of the sunlight
A reflection of a lie will keep me waiting
With love gone for so long
And this day’s ending
Is the proof of time killing all the faith I know
Knowing that faith is all I hold

And I’ve lost who I am,
and I can’t understand
Why my heart is so broken,
rejecting your love, without,
love gone wrong; lifeless words carry on
But I know, all I know’s that the end’s beginning
who I am from the start,
take me home to my heart
Let me go and I will run,
I will not be silent, all this time
spent in vain; wasted years wasted gain
All is lost but hope remains and this war’s not over
There’s a light, there’s a sun
taking all these shattered ones
To the place we belong
and his love will conquer all

Yesterday I died; tomorrow’s bleeding
Fall into your sunlight

This is the kind of music that the world needs more off.

Music that makes you think, that makes you look into yourself, and find out who you truly are, and where you are from.

I remember back when I was home schooled by my mother. Through our church, I met Hope. A very nice girl who was also home schooled. We became fast friends, and since we were both home schooled and short, we connected pretty easily.

Sadly, we started growing up, and we never saw each other anymore. I still remembered her, all the fun times we had.

About three years ago, I received news that she had died. While growing up, she suffered from a severe heart condition, and she wasn’t expected to live past her teenage years. I was shattered. I couldn’t think, didn’t even want to visit her grave site, fearing I wouldn’t be able to handle it.

Not a moment goes by today that I don’t remember her life. And even though I’ve moved on, she holds a special place in my life, in my heart.

Her name fit her perfectly. She reminds me every day that you cannot lose hope, no matter what circumstances bear down upon you. A lesson I will never forget. Rest in peace, Hope.

 
3 Comments

Posted by on July 7, 2011 in Thoughts

 

Tags: , , , ,

3 responses to “Shattered

  1. Debashrita Panda

    July 8, 2011 at 1:11 am

    I’m feeling very bad for you. I’m so sorry that your friend Hope died. But I’m very sure that your tribute for her will make her soul rest in piece. I’m also praying for the same.
    My mother also had a friend. But when she was 18, my mother’s friend died because of Sickle Cell anaemia. My mother laments the loss.
    The poem you’ve written is really amazing. At first, I thought it’s been written by an elderly person! Love it.

     
    • Hidden in a Journal

      July 9, 2011 at 10:25 am

      Hehe, to be honest, I didn’t write the poem. It’s a song, the one I linked to in the post. xD

      “Shattered” by Trading Yesterday

       
  2. tysdaddy

    July 14, 2011 at 9:27 am

    This is gorgeous, Ty. Lovely tribute to a very memorable and special girl. I miss her myself in so many ways . . .

     

Leave a Reply

 
