RSS

Reaching for the Light

01 Jul

Star light, star bright

How do you shine

Just within my sight?

You appear a light so fine

Yet a blazing star you are

Oh! I wish you could be mine

But you lie away, so far

I will someday reach thee

I’ll reach you yet, my star

Do you shine for only me?

Or do you shine elsewhere?

Our eyes fixed on the sea

Watching, waiting, over there!

I see, I see one soaring!

Oh, a sight so rare!

I hear your fires roaring

I feel your warmth within

I see your radiance glowing

To wish to be you, is that a sin?

Surely not, it can not be

But my hope is wearing thin. . .

But I will reach on, into the sky

Reaching for the light, hope not denied

 
2 Comments

Posted by on July 1, 2011 in Original Works, Poetry, Writing

 

Tags: , , , , , ,

2 responses to “Reaching for the Light

  1. Debashrita Panda

    July 2, 2011 at 1:01 am

    Very beautifully illustrated! In respect to which context have you written this poem?
    Great poem. I love it!

     
    • Hidden in a Journal

      July 3, 2011 at 12:13 am

      I just wrote as a response to those who feel like giving up on their dreams, and to “reach for the light”, no matter how grim something may seem to be. 🙂

       

Leave a Reply

 
